On-Site Engagements Overview

On-Site Engagements are a powerful feature that allow you communicate and effectively engage your visitors in real-time with customized and relevant content. In the editor, you can add, define and manage different types of engagements under the On-Site Engagements section of the Apps menu. If you don't see the feature listed on your Apps page, it hasn't been enabled on your account yet. Contact your website provider to request it enabled for you. 


Overview



1. Create New On-Site Engagement

To create an on-site engagement simply click on the Create New On-Site Engagement button on top of the page. When creating a new on-site engagement, you will be able to view three different sections - Content, Trigger Events and Trigger Settings. Click on top of each section name to read all about how to complete each field. 


2. Delete On-Site Engagement(s)

To delete one or more on-site engagement(s), simply select them by clicking on the small square on their left side followed by pressing the Delete button. A confirmation box will appear to which you should answer yes in case you are sure you want to delete the selected on-site engagements or no if you wish to cancel and go back to the on-site engagements list.


3. Search

At some point you might have a large list of different on-site engagements, making it hard to look for a specific one. The search tool allows you to search your whole list based on the on-site engagement name.  


4. On-Site Engagement List

This section will display all your existing on-site engagements, in all their different status. Each on-site engagement can be identified by its icon, preset type and on-site engagement name. Read all about the different message type presets here!


5. Triggers

This section will display a summary of the events that trigger each specific on-site engagement. Read all about the different trigger events here!


6. Statistics

In this section you will be able to check some relevant metrics and statistics about each on-site engagement. By default, the Opened/Close metrics are always shown, even if their value is 0; other specific metrics are only shown if they have values, i.e. if the conversion was successful. The complete list of metrics available in the interface are the following:

Opened: this metric represents the number of times that the on-site engagement has been displayed successfully, i.e. when all the trigger events were fulfilled.

Closed: this metric represents the number of times that the on-site engagement has been closed, both manually closed by the user as well as when the "time to disappear" functionality has been enabled, automatically closing the on-site engagement.

Links Clicked: this metric represents the number of times that a link has been clicked on the on-site engagmenet. Every message type preset that allows you to add an external or internal link to the Text area, will be counted towards this metric, e.g. Simple Infomercial, Promotional Message with Button, etc. 

Phone Links Clicked: this metric represents the number of times that a phone link button has been clicked. This metric is associated with the Click to Call message type preset.

Files Downloaded: this metric represents the number of times that a download file button has been clicked. This metric is associated with the Download File message type preset as well as every other preset that allows you to add a file link to the Text area.

Email Links Clicked: this metric represents the number of times that an email link has been clicked. Every message type preset that allows you to add an email link to the Text area, will be counted towards this metric.

Map Interactions: this metric represents the number of times that an interaction has been done on a map. However, it is only triggered once when a user starts interacting with the map, e.g. it does not get triggered each time they zoom. This metric is associated with the Map Location message type preset.

Map Directions Clicked: this metric represents the number of times that the "Get Directions" button has been clicked on a map. This metric is associated with the Map Location message type preset.

Contact Form Submitted: this metric represents the number of times a contact form has been successfully submitted. This metric is associated with the Contact Form message type preset.

Newsletter Signups: this metric represents the number of times a newsletter signup has been successfully recorded. This metric is associated with the Sign Up to A Newsletter message type preset.

Page Shares: this metric represent the number of times the site has been successfully shared via email with another user. This metric is associated with the Send to a Friend message type preset.

Twitter Tweets: this metric represents the number of times the site has been successfully shared on Twitter. This metric is associated with the Share to Social Networks message type preset.

Google+ Shares: this metric represents the number of times the site has been successfully shared on Google +. This metric is associated with the Share to Social Networks message type preset.


7. Status

This section will display the different on-site engagements status. There are three possible status: active, scheduled and inactive.


7.1. Active

If your on-site engagement is active, it means that it is visible on your site. However, it is still only triggered by the specific events you have defined when creating or editing the on-site engagement. In this status, the on-site engagement will be successfully displayed if all triggers are fulfilled.


7.2. Scheduled

If your on-site engagement is scheduled, it means that it is inactive until a specific date - which you can easily define under Trigger Settings; read all about Trigger Settings here. In this status, the on-site engagement will be successfully displayed only from the scheduled date and if all triggers are fulfilled.


7.3. Inactive

If your on-site engagement is inactive, it means that it will not be visible on your site. You can make an on-site engagement inactive by making it hidden in Trigger Settings; read all about Trigger Settings here. In this status, the on-site engagement will not be displayed on your site, even if all triggers are fulfilled.


8. View/Edit On-Site Engagements

To view more details about the on-site engagement simply click on the small icon on its right side; alternatively you can click on top of its name, highlighted in blue. This is also how you can edit the on-site engagement content, trigger or settings; if you have done any changes, don't forget to click Save On-Site Engagement to keep the changes.


9. Show

To improve the visualization of the on-site engagements, it is possible to choose the number of engagements you wish to be shown on each page. You can choose between showing 25, 50, 100 or all users in one page.


10. On-Site Engagements Queueing System

You can add as many on-site engagements as you wish and, more importantly, you can have multiple on-site engagements active simultaneously, but they will not be triggered at the same time. In that case, you might wonder what is the engagements queueing system, or in other words, in what order are the multiple engagements displayed?

The order in which the on-site engagements are displayed is by default from the oldest to the newest, i.e. the oldest on-site engagements shows as first in the queue, following the order in which they are added in the editor. Closing the first engagement will trigger the second one and so on (see illustration below). 

Keep in mind that if you have set a time to appear and a time to disappear, these will still be respected. For example, if the second on-site engagement has been set to appear in 2 seconds, it will be displayed exactly two seconds after the first on-site engagement has disappeared or been manually closed. Read how to set times for the on-site engagements to automatically appear and disappear here!

The only exception to this rule is Sticky Engagement which will always be visible and displayed at the same time as "regular" engagements.

 

Anything we’ve not covered?

Contact Us